FacebookTwitterRSS Feed

Category Archives: Databases

New Criminal Justice Database

If you are looking for information on crime trends, juvenile delinquency, courts or any other criminal justice topic go to Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, which you can locate from the library’s home page>databases a-z. Give it a try and let us know what you think!

Homepage slider image from Boston Public Library | CC licensed.

Ebook Academic Collection on your Computer, Laptop, E-reader, or Mobile Device!

Access and download over 70,000 e-books in the Greenwood Library’s Ebsco E-Book Collection, a comprehensive selection of nearly 70,000 e-book titles in all core subject areas including social sciences, humanities, science, technology, medicine, and the arts.

Finding E-Books

  • With OneSearch, limit your search to e-books using the “Source Type” option on the left-hand side.  Or browse only the Ebsco E-Book Collection.
  • Any books that have the links seen below are available for online access or download to computers, laptops, Nooks and some mobile devices.
  • For more information about downloading, please see the E-Books guide.

New Streaming Music Collection

5 top reasons to check our new database, Music Online, that supports teaching and learning @ Longwood:

1)      Coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres, such as classical, jazz, world, popular, and American

2)      High audio streaming quality and unique recordings

3)      Mobile access: stream to your mobile device/smartphone

4)      Custom playlists: create, annotate, and share playlists

5)      Permanent urls : all albums, tracks, clips, and playlists can be cited on permanent URLs.

Ten of the Library’s databases have moved to a new interface.

 

H.W. Wilson was purchased by EBSCO; therefore, the ten Wilson databases listed below are now available through the EBSCOhost/EDS platform.  You may access these databases through the Library’s A-Z Database List or directly on the Library’s home page using  the Library’s “one-stop” search interface. Either way you search, you will have access to all of the content formerly accessed through Wilson and the citation management features of the EBSCO platform.

The following databases affected by this transition are:

Wilson Biography Plus Illustrated has transformed into a new Biography Reference Center.  This new resource offers full-text biographies of more than 30 genre categories, including actors, authors, composers, explorers, figures relevant to U.S. & world history,  current world leaders and many others.

New Streaming Video Collection for Faculty and Students

YouTube Preview Image

Faculty: Looking for online/streaming video that can be watched by your students at their convenience but ties the course content and the classroom discussion together? Working on online course design and need streaming videos?

Students: Looking for an online video to include in your class presentation or a lesson plan?

If your answer is yes, then try Films on Demand, the Library’s new educational multi-disciplinary digital library!

Please go to the Library’s home page >Find Articles>Databases A-Z>Films on Demand to find what you need.

Take Three Databases for a Test Drive!

Up to marketing research? Please give  AtoZ databases a try. This database provides comprehensive coverage on businesses and households in the U.S.

 

 

Would you like to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables? Test SimplyMap 2.0.

 

How about 3D Anatomy for speech language pathology, sports injuries. surgeries, and other medical topics?

 

For more information about these databases, please go to Database Trials guide.